Grants, Awards & Honors


Adele Filene Student Presenter Grant

College and University Collection Care Grant

CSA Travel Research Grant

Stella Blum Student Research Grant

Small Museum Collection Care Grant

Angels Project

Awards &

Award of Excellence in Costume Design/Technology

CSA Fellow Award

Millia Davenport Publication Award

Richard Martin Exhibition Award

Scholars' Roundtable Honor



Adele Filene Student Presenter Grants


Adele Filene Student Presenter Grants provide financial assistance to students who have been selected to present oral research papers or research exhibits at the CSA National Symposium. The Costume Society of America greatly values the contributions of student members and wishes to foster their development. These grants of up to $500, funded by the CSA Endowment, are intended to encourage student participation in both the symposium and CSA.


The grants, first awarded in 1996, are named in honor of Adele Filene (1909-2010), designer of couture, sportswear, and handbags as well as a teacher and costume restoration specialist. A founding member and Fellow of the Costume Society of America, she also served as its treasurer and organized many CSA international study tours.


Applicants will be evaluated on:

  • be full-time undergraduate or graduate university student
  • be a current member of the Costume Society of America
  • have received notice that their proposal for an oral research paper or research exhibit has been accepted for that year's National Symposium
  • reside outside a 200 mile radius of that symposium site
  • recipients will be expected to attend the symposium, present their research, and receive their check at the awards ceremony
  • Application Deadline:

    Completed applications must be emailed or postmarked by March 1, 2016.

    Selection Criteria

    Application should include the following:

  • significance of the research to be presented
  • quality of student’s scholarship and future professional promise
  • applicant’s interest in the broad field of costume
  • evidence of applicant’s interest in continuing involvement with CSA
  • recommendation letter
  • Application Procedure

    Application should include the following:

  • applicant’s name, email, mailing address, name of college or university, major, and date of graduation
  • a 1000-1500 word essay on your involvement with dress and fashion; your career goals; and what you hope to gain from attending the CSA National Symposium
  • a letter of recommendation from an academic advisor or professor, which may be sent separately or emailed (original signature not required)
  • Send application, preferably by email, to Committee Chair. Please follow up via telephone to confirm that your submission arrived.

    Dennita Sewell, CSA Adele Filene Student Presenter Grant Committee Chair
    Curator of Fashion Design
    Phoenix Art Museum
    1625 North Central Avenue
    Phoenix, AZ 85004-1685
    (602) 257-1880

    Questions? Contact Dennita Sewell, Committee Chair, at

    Grants Schedule

    Applicants will be notified of results by April 1 of each year. Checks will be distributed to recipients at the CSA National Symposium.


    Adele Filene Student Presenter Grant Recipients

    Joanna Abijouade, New York University

    Kelly L. Reddy-Best, University of Rhode Island

    Seoha Min, University of Minnesota
    Michaela Hansen, School of the Art Institute of Chicago

    Dina Cherise Smith, University of Georgia

    Carmen Keist, Iowa State University
    Katherine Lapelosa, Fashion Institute of Technology
    Ashley Ratute, Iowa State University
    Monica Sklar, University of Minnesota
    Katy Werlin, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill

    Mario J. Roman, Cornell University

    Denise Nicole Green, University of California, Davis
    Kelly Mohs Gage, University of Minnesota

    Jessica Cowden, Brigham Young University
    Elizabeth Davis, Cornell University

    Joycelyn Falsken, The Ohio State University
    Katalin Medvedev, University of Minnesota

    Meriem Chida, University of Minnesota
    Juyeon Park, University of Minnesota
    Melody A. Pena, University of Georgia
    Naomi Spinak, San Diego State University

    Jennifer Lynn Banning, Louisiana State University
    Sara Beth Brubacher, Iowa State University
    Deirdre Clemente, Fashion Institute of Technology
    Elyssa Schram Da Cruz, Metropolitan Museum of Art
    Julia Pine, Carleton University
    Reneé Walker, University of Rhode Island

    Deborah Saville, University of Rhode Island
    Pamela Soohoo, Fashion Institute of Technology
    Susan Strawn, Iowa State University

    Melissa Woodson Jurgena, University of Nebraska-Lincoln
    Catherine Amoroso Leslie, The Ohio State University
    Michelle Tolini, The Board Graduate Center

    Debbie Zamora, Montclair State University

    Kimberly Chrisman, University of Aberdeen
    Persephone Hintlain, Louisana State University
    Mary Q. Johnson, Wichita State University

    Colleen Gau, Iowa State University
    Stephanie Day Iverson, Bard Graduate Center
    Catherine Amoroso Leslie, The Ohio State University
    Eileen Stack, University of Rhode Island

    No Award

    Marlene Miller, Buffalo State College
    Robert Schorman, Indiana University
    Sophie K. White, Courtauld Institute of Art, University of London

    Abby Lillethun, The Ohio State University
    Vicki Skorich, University of Minnesota


    For more detailed information, please contact the National Office. Include the name of the grant in your request.